Piemonte in autumn

I got up early this morning. That’s right, pre-8am! And for the first time in my life it was because I wanted to, not because I had to.

My new camera is finally here and to celebrate I headed out into the early morning fog to put it to the test. I’m not going to get all poetic, but seriously, it was amazing out there; the fog slowly lifting to reveal Piemonte in all its autumnal splendour.

It’s impossible to really do it justice in photos, but here are a few shots anyway…

Looking from La Morra(ish) towards Alba. You can see my favourite tree just sticking out of the fog
Looking from La Morra(ish) towards Alba. You can see my favourite tree just sticking out of the fog
Lines and colurs
Lines and colurs
Castelllo di Grinzane Cavour, with the Cedar of Lebanon making an appearance in the background
Castelllo di Grinzane Cavour, with the Cedar of Lebanon making an appearance in the background

Piemonte autumn 1

Langhe fall fog

41 thoughts on “Piemonte in autumn

      1. I’m doing the same with mine, had my new camera just over a month, unfortunately the instruction manual is in Japanese. I may be some time…..
        Jane x

    1. Yep, definitely. The trouble is, now I know it’s good first thing in the morning, I’m going to have to get up at that time more often. At least it’s not summer though… getting up for sunrise right now isn’t so bad!

  1. Thank you for these views from my home places. Beautiful photos.
    Later in November please use yr. new camera to take some pictures of ‘La nebbia che si taglia col coltello’ (fog you can cut with a knife). On the Torino-Milano highway I remember my mother getting out of the car and walking by the side, but a little ahead of it, with a hand on the hood, so that my father at the wheel would know that it was okay to proceed.

    1. Wow, getting out of the car on the highway… it must have been bad! That sounds terrifying! We’ve not seen it that bad yet, but I promise to take a photo when it arrives. Of course, you won’t see much…

  2. Wow these are beautiful! I was wondering if I could put a couple of these on my “Italy…wine, dine and unwind” facebook page? I try to put pics on there of Piemonte during the time of year that the tour will occur. I especially liked the one of the hilltop town. What town is that? Thanks for the consideration 🙂

    1. Thanks! Of course you can share them, that would be great! Would you mind mentioning us though? The hilltop town (the one with the castle) is Grinzane Cavour. Let me know if you have any other questions…

Leave a Reply

